2. My First Haul!

Of course this isn’t my first haul of the summer, but the first I’m finally able to share & discuss. Lately, I’ve been spending my paychecks almost exclusively on makeup & coffee. I feel like a 15 year old again, with no responsibilities other than maybe filling my gas take once every few weeks – man I miss those days. One of the many pros of living at home for a few months!

2013-08-14 19.50.07

This haul was the product of really awesome sales & really awesome reviews. Shopko has all Wet N Wild 30% off right now, & Rite Aid has all Rimmel 40% off. I’ve been in the process of acquiring all the Wet N Wild 8-pan Color Icon palettes, because my experience with the first one I bought – Nude Awakening – was so good thanks to a youtube tutorial by QueenCarlene.Β I was at Shopko earlier this week shopping for jeans & happened upon this Wet N Wild sale, so I bought Comfort Zone & Petal Pusher. I immediately regretted not buying Blue Had Me At Hello, so I was happy to buy it today!

Aside from Blue Had Me At Hello, other palettes shown from Wet N Wild are I’m Getting Sunburned, Sweet As Candy, & Going in the Wild. Funny story about the Going in the Wild palette – it’s a limited edition palette from the Spring line [I believe]. I remember buying the Nude Awakening one what seems like months ago, & I didn’t even give Going in the Wild a glance. Fast forward a few months, & I think I’ve become comfortable enough to try colored eye shadow, & decide I want to buy this palette. I know it’s LE & most stores no longer have it, like the Rite Aid by my house [which I had specifically checked two days ago] but the Rite Aid I work at DOES. We had one of each palette left. So last night when I went into work I was like “alright, I’m buying that palette tonight!”, but when I went to check the display they were both gone! I was so disappointed, & figured I had lost my chance to get it because there was no way I was going to buy it online for double or triple the price. Then today, I went back into the Rite Aid by my house for the Rimmel sale & as I’m walking to the cash register I spot this palette, the very last one, on one of the display tables. I swear to god this display was NOT there two days ago when I was in that store, & I have no idea where it came from, but I don’t even care – moral of the story is, I was dying to get this palette, & by some miracle it appeared in a store where it didn’t exist two days ago. The beauty gods were on my side today.

Okay, anyways, back to my haul. The final eye shadow palette I bought was the Maybelline Eye Studio palette in Electric Emerald. This was regular $9.99 & was on clearance for $.99 at Shopko, so of course I bought it. To conclude my Shopko purchases, I got the Wet N Wild Color Icon Blusher in Pearlescent Pink. I’ve heard great things & seen great reviews of this blusher, so for 30% off $2.99, I thought I’d give it a try. I now own four blushes, two of which are from the Loreal Project Runway Fall 2012 collection that I got for like $1.50 each at Big Lots. Blush is one of those products, like bronzer, that I am really, REALLY new to using & have only tried a handful of times because I’m somewhat intimidated by it. Hopefully with some good color variety, I’ll be able to find something that works for me!

On to my Rite Aid stop – I got a lot of Rimmel products that I read good reviews for – Fix & Perfect Pro Primer, 25 Hour Foundation in True Ivory, & Stay Matte powder in Translucent. I’m brand new to using foundation – like so new I have never used it before. I was blessed with good skin & have never had acne or issues with super oilyness or dryness, so for a long time I just didn’t see the point in wearing face makeup. Recently though, I started using a random BB cream [I think it’s Covergirl – it was the cheapest & I had a coupon, I believe] because my mom recommended it. I really like BB cream, it gives me enough coverage to blur the minor blemishes & imperfections I have on my face, & doesn’t look or feel like I’m wearing makeup. Regardless of the fact that I definitely don’t need medium or full coverage makeup, I have still been super interested in trying it – just because. I’d like to find a makeup that, if I ever DO need some amount of coverage, I have it in my bag. A week or two ago I bought Maybelline Fit Me liquid foundation & the matching powder in 120 because they were on sale at Walmart for $5 apiece. I have yet to try them because my parents don’t have AC & I’m basically always melting, but I’m really looking forward to trying that foundation & the 25 Hour foundation from Rimmel. When I do, I’ll do a post of my first impression of both!

The last few things I bought were the Rimmel Kate Moss Matte lipstick in shade 104. This shade is a super pretty nude-y mauve, which I’ve been looking for forever. I can’t wait to test it’s actual wearability & lastability. I got the Rimmel Exaggerate Eye Definer in Purple Shock & a couple liquid glitter eye liners from Prestige because they were on clearance for $2.50ish. Lastly, I got the Prestige Wonder-Full Lip Plumping Gloss in Polished. The shade looks super pink in the tube, but on the lips it’s a simple, shimmery, light pink color. Plumping lip products are another thing I’ve never tried before, but the price was good & the reviews were even better, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I’m sure I’ll be doing some impression & review posts using these products & others that I have recently acquired. Thanks for reading & if you have any suggestions for myself & my brand new blog, please leave a comment! Feedback is absolutely welcome!

xoxo

3 thoughts on “2. My First Haul!

    • Thanks so much! I tried out the Stay Matte powder last night & also loved it! I checked out your blog & followed! :]

Leave a Reply

