8. Quick bargain haul from yesterday!

Wednesday night, I worked my FINAL graveyard shift at Rite Aid & also got paid. There was a lot of celebrating to be done after that, so I got home from work Thursday at 7am, changed, & went shopping. I had no real aim, & was mostly on the hunt for sales & clearance racks, and, well, I FOUND THEM!

1

2Lips:

3

Shopko, as I mentioned in a previous post, had a few good sales on cosmetics this week, including 40% off all Physicians Formula & 30% off all Revlon & Almay. I picked up two of the Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters, one on clearance, & one regular price [plus 30% off & a $1 off coupon I had]. The shade Brown Sugar [top] was on clearance, & I had been eyeing Peach Parfait [bottom] for awhile. These colors are super pretty & natural – Brown Sugar is a mauvy-shade while Peach Parfait is a light pink. On the lip, they are super sheer & are almost more like a gloss. I’m sorry I didn’t swatch these, I totally forgot. I’ll hopefully get better at doing swatches after I move & have some more natural light to play with. I’m currently living in a basement, so there’s no natural light to be found & it’s impossible to get good pics in general, let alone good swatch pics!

At Target, I found a couple of glosses on clearance for under $3 each. One was a Neutrogena MoistureShine Gloss in 210 Copper Power & the other was Loreal 8hr Infallible LeGloss in 140 Pink Topaz. I had never tried either of these glosses before & the shades are ones I wouldn’t normally be drawn to. I LOVE buying makeup on clearance like this for that reason – because sometimes you end up finding colors that actually look really great on you or great brands you never thought much of. I was skeptical about the Loreal gloss, but the color is actually really nice on the lips because it sheers out & just gives a bit of a tint.

Nails:

5

This might be my favorite part of the entire haul. Nail polish is my FAVORITE thing to find on clearance or at a discount store. After working at Rite Aid, I know how pricey some drugstore makeup can be. I’m a nail polish hoarder, but I normally refuse to spend more than $3 or $4 max on it. Lately, I’ve been finding tons of great polishes at Big Lots. Big Lots is one of the best places ever to find drugstore makeup at super low prices. Often, it’s not even discontinued makeup! All of these Loreal polishes I picked up are, I think, still in the line & active. At Big Lots, the nail polish is almost always $1. I’ve gotten almost all the Sally Hansen Salon Manicure polishes I own there, because they’re so awesome & I know in a drugstore they’re almost $8!

Okay, sorry about that. I just had to rave about Big Lots & the fabulous deals they have on drugstore makeup. Back to the nail polish – I got 4 Loreal Colore Riche nail polishes in [from left to right] 480 Breaking Curfew, 230 Satin Sheets, 430 He Red My Mind, & 470 Haute Couture Red. I also got another Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polish in 330 Pedal to the Metal. I’ve never used the Loreal polishes before, so I’m excited to try them out & see how well they last. Many of these colors will be great for Fall!

9

This wasn’t quite a bargain find, but I got these nail polishes at Rite Aid for buy one get one 50% off & had two coupons for $1 off & $1.50 off. One is in 285 Mint Mojito & the other is in 145 Lav-Endure. I’ve heard so many great things about these polishes & how well they last, but I’ve never actually tried them before – which would be surprising if you’d seen the size of my nail polish collection. I mostly went for the lavendar color – I can’t remember whose blog I saw it on but I FELL IN LOVE & had to get it. Then I saw the bogo sale & remembered my coupons & decided I would get another.

Eyes:

4

I only picked up two eye products, but I still think they’re worth mentioning – I got two Loreal 24hr Infallible Eye Shadow’s in 407 Gold Imperial & 507 Primped & Precious. I got these along with the nail polishes at Big Lots, & they were also $1 each. Once again, I’ve never used these shadows before but have been eyeing them at work. I don’t usually like buying individual eyeshadow colors because I’m not very good at deciding what looks good together & what doesn’t. Matching things is a nightmare for me, but I’m getting better [thanks to a constructively critical best friend!].

These shadow pots also kind of confuse me. Are they powder? Are the cream? Are they loose? I just don’t know! Hopefully I’ll find a way to use them soon so I can see how they work.

Tools:

Last but not least, I bought some more Elf brushes & brush shampoo at TJ Maxx for $2.69 each. At this point, I have most of the brushes I really need, but I like to buy brushes I don’t have & make a point of learning how to use them, especially if they’re super inexpensive. And, as I’ve mentioned before, I haven’t properly washed my brushes yet, so I bought this shampoo & will have to do that & hopefully not ruin anything in the process.

Miscellaneous:

Among my awesome makeup finds, I also found lots of other things on super clearance, including some infinity scarves at Target for $4.88 each, a gorgeous wallet at TJ Maxx for $7.99, an adorable LuLu bag at JC Penney for $12, bow hair clips at Icing for $2 each, & earrings at Fuego for 3 for $6.80. Not pictured are some black & white cat eye sunglasses I got at JC Penney for $7.99. I’ve been so in love with sunglasses this year, & especially with the cat eye style! Who needs 6 pairs of sunglasses? I DO I DO!

My favorite part of the entire trip was when I walked into Bath & Body Works & discovered that their Fall scents were back. Like I literally could have jumped for joy & possibly cried with happiness. It’s funny because I work retail & have been setting Fall decor displays & Halloween candy for weeks now, but seeing the candles in Bath & Body Works is what made me really realize Fall was so close. Incidentally, I bought 3 small Fall-scented candles [in Pumpkin Apple, Autumn, & Harvest Coffee] & will be using the ‘20% off your entire purchase’ coupon I got in my bag on more. I just love Fall so much & wish it could last all year. Boots! Scarves! Pea coats! Leaves changing! Cold weather! BEST EVERRR. I can’t wait.

Thanks for reading guys. Let me know if you have any ideas for posts I could do! I’d love to take suggestions & have some fun with them!

Leave a Reply

